About Us

Main Content

In 2012, under the direction of the Southern Illinois University Chancellor and Provost, the Advisory Council on Academic Advisement was created to provide a comprehensive vision and strategic plan to enhance and showcase effective academic advisement functions and strategies to promote our students' academic success (retention/persistence) and timely degree completion.

Kim Little 

klittle@business.siu.edu
Chair, Advisory Council on Academic Advisement

Advisory Council Co-Chairs, on- and off-campus academic advisors, members of the Advisory Council on Academic Advisement and numerous stakeholders work collaboratively to develop our talents and celebrate our contributions.

Prioritized recommendations for the council are:  communications; professionalism; transparency; designation of an "advising champion" or centralized facilitator; the development of a campus-wide total intake model for academic advisement; consistent funding model; technology and associated skill enhancement; and the creation and implementation of an on-going assessment plan (students and advisors).

2017 Advisory Council on Academic Advisement (ACAA) Quarterly Meetings

Friday, January 27, 2017           8:30 AM - 10:00 AM       SSB 307
Friday, April 21, 2017               8:30 AM - 10:00 AM       SSB 307
Friday, July 21, 2017                8:30 AM - 10:00 AM       SSB 307
Friday, October 20, 2017           8:30 AM - 10:00 AM       SSB 307

Departments

Constituent/CFA

Name/Title

Email

Term

Undergraduate Admissions

Rachel Harvel, Interim Associate Director for Admissions


Student Services Building, First Floor

rachelmh@siu.edu 

618-453-3782

MC 4710

Ex-Officio

Office of the Registrar

Tamara Workman
Student Services Building, Room 381C

tworkman@siu.edu 

618-453-2973

618-453-2315 - Gina Gurley

MC 4713

Ex-Officio

IT – Banner SIS

Vacant

 

Ex-Officio

Academic Services, Registrars' Office

Rachel Frazier, Assistant Director

Student Services Building, Room 381

rfrazier@siu.edu 

618-453-2981

MC 4725

Ex-Officio

Financial Aid

Terri Harfst, Director

Student Services Building, 2nd Floor

terriw@siu.edu

618-453-3102

MC  4702

Ex-Officio

Distance Education & Off-Campus Programs

Dr. Mandara Savage, Executive Director

Northwest Annex

msavage@siu.edu

618-453-3430

Ex-Officio

Office of Provost & VC
for Academic Affairs

Dr. Lizette Chevalier, Associate Provost for Academic Programs

Anthony 6834

lizette.chevalier@siu.edu 

618-453-7653

MC 6834

Ex-Officio

University College (UC)

Cheryle Tucker, Director, ESA

Student Services Building

cheryle.tucker@siu.edu 

618-453-1828

MC 4525

Ex-Officio

Science (SC)

Sara Ressing, Academic Advisor

Neckers Building A185

sara.ressing@cos.siu.edu 

618-536-5537

MC 4404

1 Year

Liberal Arts (LA)

Valerie Brooks Wallin, Academic Advisor

Allyn 103

vlbrooks@siu.edu 

618-453-4313

MC 4301

2 Years

Engineering 

Julie Dunston, Associate Professor

Engineering D, Room 112A

dunston@siu.edu

618-536-3396

MC 6603

1 Year

Education and Human Services (EHS)

Jane Nichols, Assistant Professor

Rehabilitation Institute

jlnichols@siu.edu 

618-453-8291

MC 4609

1 Year

Mass Communication & Media Arts

Phyllis West, Professor

Radio, Television & Digital Media

pawprint@siu.edu 

618-536-7555

MC 6609

1 Year

Learning Support Services

Morris Library 7th Floor

 

618-453-2242

MC 4714

3 Years

Business (BU)

Kim Little, Director of Undergraduate Online Student Services  (co-chair)

Rehn 109

klittle@business.siu.edu  

618-453-7956

MC 4601

3 Years

Applied Sciences and Arts (AP)

Elaine Atwood, Chief Academic Advisor

Applied Sciences & Arts Bldg. 221

atwood@siu.edu 

618-453-2052

MC 6604

3 Years

CASA-Allied Health

Career Ladder Chair

Robert Broomfield, Academic Advisor

ASA 14A

broomr@siu.edu

618-453-7287

MC 6615

Group Leader

Career Services

Douglas Reichenberger, Director

Student Services Building, Room 179

dreichenberger@siu.edu

618-453-1045

MC 4703

3 Years

New Student Programs

Cordy Love, Director

New Student Programs

cordeous@siu.edu

618-453-1000

MC 4424

3 Years


ACAA Chairperson:

2012-August 2015                         Tamara Workman
August 2015 - December 2015      Tabitha Stone and Kim Little, co-chairs
January 2016 - Present                  Kim Little

Under the Direction of the Advisory Council the Academic Advisor Website Working Group was charged with developing a bifurcated website to support the detailed informational needs of advising staff, students and general public student-focused information.

Website Working Group members:

Sara Long-Roth                Professor & Faculty Advisor, ANS, College of Agricultural Sciences - Retired
Jasmine Winters               Academic Advisor, School of Architecture, College of Applied Sciences and Arts
Kimberly Little -Chair        Director of Undergraduate Online Student Services, College of Business