Academic Advisors | Academic Advisement | SIU

SIU Logo

Academic Advisement

Guidance Growth Transformation

Professional and Departmental Academic Advisors Spring 2015 Main Content

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURAL SCIENCES

AG 201, MC 4416
P: (618) 453-2469 | F: (618) 453-2505

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Charlotte A. Sarao Assistant to the Dean & Chief Academic Advisor AG 117 cgibson@siu.edu (618) 453-4468
Kathy Elson Academic Advisor; Ag Systems & Educ, Forestry,
Horticulture, Hospitality Tourism Admin
AG 117 kelson@siu.edu  (618) 453-1722
Kim Taylor Academic Advisor; Ag Bus Econ, Animal Science,
Crop Soil & Environmental Mgmt, Human Nutrition
Dietetics
AG 117 kataylor@siu.edu  (618) 453-1706

COLLEGE OF APPLIED SCIENCES AND ARTS

ASA 222, MC 6604
P: (618) 536-6682 | F: (618) 453-7286

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Elaine Atwood Chief Academic Advisor ASA 221 atwood@siu.edu (618) 453-2052

School of Allied Health

ASA 16, MC 6615
P: (618) 453-7211 | F: (618) 433-7020

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
K. Scott Collins Director and Professor ASA 16 kscollins@siu.edu (618) 453-7217
Robert Broomfield Academic Advisor; DH; MSFS; RADS ASA 18 broomr@siu.edu (618) 453-7287
Quiana Jackson Academic Advisor; HCM; PTA ASA 18 quiana.jackson@siu.edu (618) 453-7172

School of Architecture

QUIG 410, MC 4337
P: (618) 453-3734 | F: (618) 453-1129

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Dr. Walter V. Wendler Director and Professor QUIG 410 wendler@siu.edu (618) 453-3734
Shelby Adkinson Assistant Instructor; FDM QUIG 408 sadkinson@siu.edu (618) 453-3734
Jasmine Winters Academic Advisor; ARC; ID QUIG 409 jwinters@siu.edu (618) 453-1227

School of Information Systems and Applied Technology

ASA 106B, MC 6614
P: (618) 453-7253 | F: (618) 453-7254

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Sam Chung Director ASA 106 samchung@siu.edu (618) 453-7253
Shannon Gwaltney Academic Advisor; TRM; IST; EST ASA 107 shanng@siu.edu  (618) 453-7281

School of Transportation - Department of Aviation Management and Flight

TEC 146D, MC 6817
AVM-P: (618) 453-8898 | F: (618) 453-4850
AF-P: (618) 453-1147 | F: (618) 453-4850

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Jose Ruiz Department Chair; AVM; AF TEC 146D

jruiz@siu.edu  

(618) 453-8898
vacant Coordinator of Aviation Facilities & Enrollment; AVM TEC 126B   (618) 453-9235
Michelle Parker-Clark Academic Advisor; AF; AVM TEC 126C; MC6623 mpclark@siu.edu (618) 453-9224

School of Transportation - Department of Aviation Technologies

TEC 146E, MC 6817
P: (618) 536-3371 | F: (618) 453-4850

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Michael Burgener Department Chair; AVT TEC 146E burgerner@siu.edu   (618) 536-3371
Rachel Lee Field Representative; AVT TEC 126D rllee@siu.edu (618) 453-9206

School of Transportation - Department of Automotive Technology

TEC 146C, MC 6895
P: (618) 453-4024 | F: (618) 453-8483

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Michael Behrmann Department Chair; AUT TEC 146C mbehr@siu.edu   (618) 536-3371
Tracey Logeman Academic Advisor; AUT TEC 126E tlogeman@siu.edu (618) 453-4024

Off-Campus Academic Programs

ASA 125, MC 6613
P: (618) 536-6682 | F: (618) 453-8894

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Jill Mueller Program Advisor; EST; HCM; AVM; TRM; FSM; AUT ASA 125 muellerj@siu.edu (618) 453-7276
Arelia Bradley Academic Advisor, Off-Campus Academic Programs ASA 125 abradley@siu.edu  (618) 453-7275

CASA Graduate Degree Programs

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
K. Scott Collins Professor; Medical Dosimetry (MS) ASA 211B; MC 6615 kscollin@siu.edu (618) 453-8800
John K. Dobbins Associate Professor; Architecture (M. Arch) QUIG 413; MC 4337 jdobbins@siu.edu (618) 453-3743
Gary Kistner Senior Professor; Fire Service & Homeland Security ASA 202; MC 6613 siufire@siu.edu (618) 453-7277

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Rehn 121, MC 4620
P: (618) 453-7960 | F: (618) 453-7961

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Tabitha Stone Chief Academic Advisor Rehn 125A tabstone@business.siu.edu (618) 536-4431
Kim Little Director of Undergraduate Online Student Services Rehn 109 klittle@business.siu.edu  (618) 453-7956
Emily Morgan Academic Advisor Rehn 129 emorgan@business.siu.edu  (618) 536-4431
Joe Pineau Academic Advisor Rehn 127A jope@business.siu.edu (618) 536-4431
Bridgette Sargent Academic Advisor Rehn 131 bsargent@business.siu.edu  (618) 536-4431
(vacant) Academic Advisor Rehn (618) 536-4431

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND HUMAN SERVICES

Wham 122, MC 4624
P: (618) 453-2415 | F: (618) 453-1646

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Katrina James Chief Academic Advisor; Early Childhood-Preschool/Primary; Special Education Wham 122; MC 4601  kat.james11@siu.edu  (618) 453-6340
Christina Gilroy Academic Advisor; Social Work; Early Childhood-Child and Family Services Wham 122; MC 4601 cgilroy@siu.edu (618) 453-6340
Christopher Hinkle Academic Advisor; Sport Administration, Recreation (all specializations), WED (all specializations), Undecided/Undeclared Wham 122; MC 4601 chinkle@siu.edu (618) 453-6340
Angela Hunter Academic Advisor; Communication Disorders and Sciences; Elementary Education; Rehabilitation Services; REHB-Behavior Analysis and Therapy Wham 122; MC 4601 ahunter@siu.edu (618) 453-6340
Melanye Merryll Academic Advisor; Biological Science; English; Foreign Languages (French, German, Spanish); History; Mathematics; Social Sciences Wham 122; MC 4601 Merryll1@siu.edu (618) 453-6340
Kaila Tyner Academic Advisor; Health Education (Community); Exercise Science; Physical Education Teacher Education Wham 122; MC 4601 kaila@siu.edu (618) 453-6340

Off-Campus Degree Program

Pulliam Hall 201, MC 4603

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Roberta Garcia WED Off-Campus Degree Director; Senior Lecturer Pulliam 212, MC 4605 Roberta.garcia@siu.edu (618) 453-3321
Liz Lentz-Hees Researcher II; 258/259 Evaluator Pulliam 201, MC 4605 elhees@siu.edu (618) 453-1902
Jessie Slanghenhaupt Academic Advisor; WED Scott Air Force Base sjessie@siu.edu (618) 746-4755

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

ENG D 104, MC 6603
P: (618) 453-4321 | F: (618) 453-8440

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
C. Jenise Wilson Chief Academic Advisor ENG D 104 JWilson@siu.edu (618) 453-2261
Shantone (Shan) Edwards Academic Advisor; CEE; Industrial Technology,
Electrical Engineering Technology
ENG D 104 ShantoneEdwards@siu.edu (618) 453-2261
Lisa Lindhorst Academic Advisor; ECE; MMRE ENG D 104 lisalind@siu.edu  (618) 453-2261
Laura Morgan Academic Advisor; MEEP ENG D 104 LauraMorgan@siu.edu (618) 453-2261

Success In Engineering Through Excellence & Diversity

ENG A 120, MC 6603
P: (618) 536-2463 | F: (618) 453-7455

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Tarnisha Green Director ENG A120 green@engr.siu.edu (618) 536-2463

Technology Off-Campus Degree Programs

1230 Lincoln Dr, MC 6603

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Marilyn Updike Program Advisor ENG D0130 mmupdike@siu.edu (618) 453-7989
Yvonne Williamson Program Advisor ENG D0130 ywilliam@siu.edu (618) 453-7828

GRADUATE SCHOOL

Student Services Building, Room 321, MC 4716
P: (618) 536-7791 | F: (618) 453-4562

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Dr. Ratna Sinha Associate Dean SSB Room 321 rsinha@siu.edu (618) 453-4570

Intercollegiate Athletics

151 Troutt-Wittman Academic Center, MC 6620
P: (618) 453-5311 | F: (618) 453-5152

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Kristina Stepps Associate Athletic Director 151 Troutt-Wittmann katt@athletics.siu.edu (618) 453-5468
Liz Jordan Academic Advisor 151 Troutt-Wittmann lizz4286@siu.edu (618) 453-5456
Mallory Sellers Academic Advisor 151 Troutt-Wittmann msellers@siu.edu (618) 453-5486
(vacant) Graduate Assistant 151 Troutt-Wittman (618) 453-5402
Juan Avila Graduate Assistant 151 Troutt-Wittman jcavila@siu.edu (618) 453-7291

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS

Faner 1229, MC 4522
P: (618) 453-2466 | F: (618) 453-3253

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Martha Taricone Chief Academic Advisor; AFR, Math, UNLA Faner 1229, MC 4523 taricone@siu.edu (618) 453-3388
Leslie Anderson Academic Advisor; Criminology & Criminal Justice (freshmen & sophomore) Faner 1229, MC 4523 Lesand66@siu.edu (618) 453-3388
Naomi Arseneau Academic Advisor; University Studies Faner 1229, MC 4301 narseneau@siu.edu  (618) 453-3388
Karen Clayton Academic Advisor; Music, Pre-Music, Sociology, Anthropology, History Faner 1229, MC 4523 kclayton@siu.edu (618) 453-3388
Michael Harbin Coordinator of Recruitment & Retention; Criminology & Criminal Justice Faner 4244, MC 4504 mharbin@siu.edu (618) 453-6434
Susan King Academic Advisor; Psychology Faner 1229, MC 4523 sjking@siu.edu (618) 453-3388
Jay Lewis Academic Advisor; Musical Theatre, Theatre, Speech Communication, Paralegal Studies Faner 1229, MC 4523 jlewis@siu.edu (618) 453-3388
Thomas Price Academic Advisor; Languages, FLIT, Philosophy, Linguistics, English Faner 1229, MC 4523 tprice@siu.edu (618) 453-3388
Matthew Sronkoski Academic Advisor; GENV, ECON, POLS, Pre-Law Faner 1229, MC 4523 mattski@siu.edu (618) 453-3388
Valerie Brooks Wallin Academic Advisor; Art & Design Allyn 103, MC 4301 vlbrooks@siu.edu  (618) 453-4313

COLLEGE OF MASS COMMUNICATION AND MEDIA ARTS

COMM 1014A, MC 6606
P: (618) 453-7708 | F: (618) 453-7714

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Jean (Kelley) Miner Chief Academic Advisor; Radio; Television & Digital Media COMM 1048C, MC 6606 jeank@siu.edu (618) 453-6902
Carol Westerman-Jones Academic Advisor; Cinema & Photography COMM 1121B, MC 6610 carolw@siu.edu (618) 453-4164
Jack Young Academic Advisor; Journalism COMM 1210A, MC 6601 jayo001@siu.edu (618) 453-3280

Medprep Program

Wheeler 204, MC 4323
P: (618) 453-6671 | F: (618) 453-1919

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Kathleen Jones Chief Academic Advisor Wheeler 204 kjones@siumed.edu (618) 453-1474
Dr. Mallory Gary Instructor; Medprep Wheeler 203 mgary87@siumed.edu (618) 453-1558
Linda Herrold Instructor; Medprep Wheeler 221 lherrold@siumed.edu (618) 453-1460
Dr. Anneke Metz Assistant Professor; Medprep Wheeler 221 ametz@siumed.edu (618) 453-1381
Dr. Gina Paul Associate Professor; Medprep Wheeler 002 rpaul@siumed.edu (618) 453-1553
Dr. Rodney Weilbaecher Instructor; Medprep Wheeler 222 rweilbaecher@siumed.edu (618) 453-1556

ROTC

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Captain Michael Holt Recruiting Officer; Air Force ROTC Air Force ROTC
800 S Normal, MC 6718
michael.holt@siu.edu (618) 453-1667
Shannon Lewey Recruiting Operations Officer; Army ROTC Army ROTC
Kesnar 106, MC 6825
lewey7@siu.edu (618) 453-7563

SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Master's Degree Program
Lindegren 129, MC 6516

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
S. Jeannie Banning Program/Student Advisor; Physician Assistant Program Lindegren 008G jbanning@siu.edu (618) 453-5527
(F)453-8900

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE

Neckers A185, MC 4404
P: (618) 536-6666 | F: (618) 453-7067

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Jean McPherson Chief Academic Advisor Neckers A185 jmcpherson@cos.siu.edu (618) 536-5537
Kim Doellman Academic Advisor Neckers A185 kdoellman@cos.siu.edu (618) 536-5537
Yvonne Gramenz Academic Advisor Neckers A185 Yvonne12@siu.edu (618) 536-5537
Sara Ressing Academic Advisor Neckers A185 sara.ressing@siu.edu  (618) 536-5537
Gail Robinson Academic Advisor; Pre-Health Professions Neckers A185 grobin@siu.edu (618) 536-2147
Brianna Sinche Academic Advisor; Health Professions Neckers A185A bsinche@siu.edu  (618) 536-2147

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE/FRESHMEN AND EXPLORATORY STUDENTS

Student Services Building, Room 110, MC 4711
P: (618) 453-4351 | F: (618) 453-3241

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
vacant Director and Chief Academic Advisor
Walter Davis Academic Advisor; EXPP SSB Room 110 wdavis3@siu.edu (618) 453-4351
Shayla Duran Academic Advisor; EXPU SSB Room 110 shaylah@siu.edu (618) 453-4351
vacant Academic Advisor; Advisement and Assessment Support SSB Room 110   (618) 453-4351
Dr. Jeannie Killian Academic Advisor:EXPP SSC Room 110 jeannie@siu.edu  (618) 453-4351
Aimee Lemrise Academic Advisor; EXPU SSB Room 110 alemrise@siu.edu  (618) 453-4351
Kristopher Marshall Academic Advisor; EXPP SSB Room 110 sheed@siu.edu (618) 453-4351
Patricia Matthews Academic Advisor; EXPU SSB Room 110 patmatt@siu.edu (618) 453-4351
Sheri Sulser Academic Advisor; EXPP SSB Room 110 ssulser@siu.edu (618) 453-4351

SIU EXTENDED CAMPUS

NW Annex A135, MC 6513
P: (618) 453-3430 | F: (618) 453-5668

Name Title / Specialty Area Mailing Address E-mail Address Phone #
Ha-Yee Teska Associate Director; SIU Extended Campus NW Annex A, Room 141 A, MC 6513 hteska@siu.edu (618) 453-3430

Off-Campus Locations


Community College Partners